Need a coat

Seriously, it’s cold.

Weather gripes aside, I’m still having a red hot go at digital sculpting, using 3dcoat (http://www.3d-coat.com/).

It’s pretty fun.

Actually, it’s really really fun. The software is a little clunky, but not in the sense of having a really bad main workflow, it just has some strange ways of moving back and forward between different mode of the app, etc. Most of the features just work really well, though. The brushes behave themselves, the application is responsive and stable, and IT BAKES NORMAL MAPS WELL.

Yeah, caps, I went there. Because I’ve been trying to get decent normal maps out of applications like 3dsmax, maya and modo over the past 5 years, and I’ve had pretty poor results, almost always in the vicinity of UV seams, and usually with regards to the baking process not understanding what to do with hard/soft edges. Or, perhaps, I just haven’t worked out the process very well.

Baking from voxels to a low poly mesh in 3d coat, in the short time I’ve been using it, works better than I could have hoped.

I suspect that ZBrush, Mudbox, XNormal, etc, all work pretty well, as well. I haven’t really had a look at them much.

Anyway, I still don’t have much to show, but will post something up eventually!

Edit: Ok, well I did get some stuff done eventually!

3d coat sculpt

3d coat sculpt

More pics in the gallery.

Leave a Reply

