Hubba hubba

Quick break from my code project to stop my brain from melting (well, ok, so I’ve been playing Diablo3 a lot, too).

I’d been bugging my buddy in Montreal to send me some schematics for wheel hubs.
He builds custom racing and mountain bike wheels (RideWMD.com) and the hubs are pretty, and I like metal stuff.
I got a bit of a fascination with shiny metal things when pulling apart hard drives a while back.

Anyway, he sent me some schematics yesterday, so I made this:

Hub red

I really really love how easy it is to render things in Modo, I really didn’t have to go much past the standard settings.
I took it into photoshop to apply lazy mans chromatic aberration (shift a channel over by a pixel or two), which I took a little too far to be honest 🙂

As for the model, it’s 4220 source verts (thanks to that grippy bit at the front), and subdivides down to about 2 million vertices for the render, and the render took somewhere between 10 and 20 minutes, from memory.

I’d like to push it a little further towards realism, but I still think it’s one of the best renders I’ve done, and the whole thing took about 4-5 hours start to finish. Which is about 4-5 weeks quicker than I usually am 😉
Again, big thanks to Steve and his Wheels of Mass Destruction!

Leave a Reply

