UE4 – The search for the rainbow paddle pop

“It is absolutely necessary, for the peace and safety of mankind, that some of earth’s dark, dead corners and unplumbed depths be left alone”
That quote is from Lovecraft, and was written with programmers in mind, I am convinced.

I have been playing around with UE4 for a few months now, and this weekend was my first proper delving into the code.

There’s a few spots in my Half-Life scene where I want running water, and I am toying with the idea of making all my materials dynamically wet-able.
I’m probably going to try out render-to-texture and compute shader work, which is almost certainly going to take me forever to do (even though I’ve played around with both in my own projects).

Instead of diving into all that, I thought I’d start off small by adding a new Component that will randomly set the vertex colours in a mesh.

By pure accident, this effect looks like a rainbow paddle pop. Makes me hungry.

Here it is:

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

